

NORTH AMERICAN ENERGY STANDARDS BOARD

1301 Fannin, Suite 2350 • Houston, Texas 77002 • **Phone:** (713) 356-0060 • **Fax:** (713) 356-0067 **email:** naesb@naesb.org • **Web Site Address:** www.naesb.org

June 18, 2003

NAESB AT A GLANCE: MONTHLY UPDATE

RETAIL GAS PROCEDURES INVENTORY SURVEY: Mike Novak, vice chair of the Executive Committee representing the retail gas quadrant, reviewed the data collection to date that is reflected in the gas procedures inventory survey. The survey results are a mechanism to determine the priorities of the retail gas market as it applies to standards development and highlight the business practices of the participating companies. This will be an ongoing effort for the retail gas quadrant. The survey can be accessed from the NAESB web site.

RETAIL GAS AND ELECTRIC PROPOSED STANDARDS: Jim Minneman, vice chair of the Executive Committee representing the retail electric quadrant, reviewed the progress of the development of model business practices for both retail quadrants. The quadrants are working jointly to prepare standards for creditworthiness and for billing and payments, both of which should conclude by yearend. The wholesale gas technical standards are being reviewed for applicability to the retail quadrants. The active subcommittees are Supplier Utility Interface Subcommittee, the Customer Processes Subcommittee and the Technical Electronic Implementation Subcommittee – all of whom are meeting jointly for both retail groups. Their work products can be accessed from the NAESB web site.

WHOLESALE GAS VERSION 1.7 STANDARDS: Jim Buccigross, chair of the Executive Committee and representative from the wholesale gas quadrant, reviewed the version 1.7 standards, to be published by yearend. The publication will include a new Funds Transfer Agent Agreement, the conclusion of the implementation of the Sandia National Laboratories recommendations for the technical standards, maintenance of the existing version 1.6 standards, standards to address partial day recalls as envisioned in FERC Order 587-N, and may include creditworthiness standards. Version 1.7 demonstrates the maturing of the wholesale gas standards while also including several new areas as listed above.

WHOLESALE ELECTRIC STANDARDS CONTRACTS: Joel Dison, chair of the Contracts Subcommittee representing the wholesale electric quadrant, reviewed the progress to date on contracts development. The Funds Transfer Agency Agreement was adopted by NAESB for applicability to the wholesale electric quadrant. In reviewing the WSPP contract and the EEI contract, it was determined to suggest no changes to the WSPP contract, and concentrate on whether NASB should develop a bi-lateral contract similar to the one developed by EEI. Discussions with EEI are underway.

JOINT INTERFACE COMMITTEE UPDATE: Michael Desselle vice chair of the Board of Directors representing the wholesale electric quadrant, reviewed the efforts underway for the Joint Interface Committee – a group representing NAESB, NERC and the ISO-RTO Council equally in determination of which organization should act on standards requests, to avoid duplication. As a result of the recent meeting, NAESB will be drafting requests for coordinate interchange and coordinate operations to provide business practices support for efforts underway at NERC.

NEXT CONFERENCE CALL: The next conference call is scheduled for July 16 at 2:00 pm eastern. We hope you can join us. If there are particular topics you would like to see covered or would like to receive additional information, please call or email the NAESB Office (713-356-0060, naesb@naesb.org).

North American Energy Standards Board Participant List June 18, 2003 1:00 PM CT

Name Organization David Payne Mirant

Randy Corbin IA Consumer Council

Alex Sarafin Nisource Melissa Lauderdale EEI

Barbara Rodos American Electric Power

Michelle Doyle Con Edison

Mark Futrell FL Public Service Commission

Gary Jackson TN Valley Authority

Jim HicksPacific CoreGreg MaxfieldPacific CorpDon SytsmaRJ RuddenJudyRayAlabama PowerBill NewboldDetroit Edison

Martha Duggan Reliant Allan Johnson Mirant

Ruth Kiselewich Baltimore Gas & Electric

Jonathan Zemanek Entergy Rich Zelenko Dominion

Barbara Alexander Maine Office of Public Advocate

Barry Lawson NRECA KathyHeath GA Power

Kathy Lewis FL Public Service Commission Bill Heinrich NY Public Service Commission

Vern Ingersoll Progress Energy
Cade Burks EC Power
Arlynn Kelleher Entergy
Katherine Burch Duke Energy

Cecilia Liang Nichol Energy Supply Allegheny

Jonathan Kubler GA Power
Mike Sheppard Newborn Oil Co.

Diane Barney NY Public Service Commission

Ira Kendrick Consumers Energy Yanie Nielson Kern River Gas

Denise Doulet PA Office of Consumer Advocate

LoAnn Westerfield Idaho Public Utility

Clare Roberson PMO Link Marjorie Perlman Energy East

Dale Davis
Mary Edwards
Terry Grabiak
Jane Quinn
Kirk Bracht
Brian Edmunds
Williams Gas Pipeline
Dominion VA Power
Allegheny Power
Con Edison
CA PUC
DC OPC

Barbara Rehman Bonneville Power

Theresa Hess Reliant Sharla Barklind NARUC

Mariam Arnaout American Gas Association

Jim Dillon Niagara Mohawk

Heidi Arroyo SCE
Lou Oberski Dominion
Carl Evans PUC Ohio
Steve Terelmes Ameren

Annunciata Marino PA Public Utility Glen Sperlock Seminole Electric

North American Energy Standards Board Participant List June 18, 2003 1:00 PM CT

Bill Hebenstreit El Paso Merchant energy Ken Brown Public Service Electric & Gas

Lori Vanwest ExcellEnergy

Mark Fidrych WAPA Jim Hartwell NPCC Todd Oncken NAESB

Jennifer Degan WA Gas & Light

Sheila Ward Alabama Public Services Ralph Bourquin Baltimore Gas & Electric

Bill Boswell NAESB

Jim MinnemanPPL SolutionsPat SarverUSDA Rural UtilityGreg LanderSkipping Stone

Dowell Hudson OPG

Dan Klempke Basin electric
Tom Gwilliam Iroquois Gas
Bill Grygar Panhandle Custom
Jim Buccigross Group 8760

Tina Weatherman AGL Resources
Terri Peschka Portland General Electric

Christopher Burden Williams Gas Pipeli ne
Yvette Camp Southern Company
Edward Davis Entergy

Tom Pearce Ohio PUC
Scott Henry Duke Energy
Joel Dison Southern Company
Dave Eichenlaub VA State Corp.
David Nick DTE Energy

Tom Wander Public Service Co - NM

Jim Wilson Am Energy Co. Michael Novak National Fuel

Don Benjamin NERC
Bernard Kramer MICHCON

Tom Ringenbach American Electric Power
Wanda Jones MI Public Service Commission

Martin Huelsmann KY Public Service